Accessible Navigation. Go to: Navigation Main Content Footer
UM News
November 29, 2012


Five high school seniors were awarded $1,000 scholarships to attend The University of Montana last week for their exemplary performance at the 47th Annual Montana Model United Nations Conference. Each winner wrote an outstanding position paper and actively and accurately represented his or her country during two days of debate on world issues.

The awardees include Jessica Stevens and Mackenzie Lombardi from Missoula Sentinel High School; China Lexi from Missoula Hellgate High School; Tom Dooling from Kalispell's Flathead High School; and Austin Standley from Missoula Big Sky High School.

Any scholarship turned down by one of the first five seniors will be offered to the next senior on the top-20 list. In recent years, at least half of the top-20 seniors have been offered a scholarship.

Schools also were acknowledged with awards at the conclusion of the conference. The 17 participating schools were divided into small and large delegations based on the number of students they brought to the conference and were judged on the overall preparedness, participation and excellence of their delegates.       

The three school award categories include Outstanding School for the top 10 percent, Distinguished School for the top 20 percent and Honorable School for the top 30 percent.

The small delegation winners were:

  • Outstanding School: Ravalli Home School, advised by Tanya Horat.
  • Distinguished School: Kalispell Flathead High School, advised by Genia Allen-Schmid, Sean O’Donnell and Lauren Gustafson.
  • Honorable School: Jefferson High School in Boulder, advised by Fritz Bieler.

The large delegation winners were:

  • Outstanding School: Missoula Hellgate High School, advised by Patty Hixon and Julia McCarthy-Mclaverty.
  • Distinguished School: Helena High School, advised by Don Pogreba; and Coeur D’Alene Charter Academy, advised by Karen Coughenour.
  • Honorable School: Missoula Big Sky High School, advised by Janice Bishop and Cameron Johnson; and Bozeman High School, advised by Beth Pfaff and Joyce Hannula.

Additional awards were given to the top 20 percent of the 350 students who attended the conference and to the top 20 percent of the 96 country teams.  UM students who planned and staffed the conference also were recognized. 

The complete award listing, including the top 20 high school senior list, can be found online at For more information on award criteria, go to For information on the conference, including topics, guest speakers, and participating high schools, go to



State, Coeur D’Alene Press


Contact: Karen Adams, associate professor, UM Department of Political Science, 406-214-5451,