Accessible Navigation. Go to: Navigation Main Content Footer
UM News
March 27, 2013


The University of Montana Phyllis J. Washington College of Education and Human Sciences honored state educators and community partners during the 2013 Partnership and Scholarship Recognition Reception held March 22.

The event recognized educational partners who collaborate with the University and the college in the preparation of future professionals. About 350 honorees and guests attended the reception, which was held in the University Center Ballroom.

Holly Snyder, a third-grade teacher at Corvallis Primary School, received the 2013 Maryfrances Shreeve Award for Teaching Excellence. The award was presented by Jean’ne Shreeve, daughter of the award’s namesake.

Snyder has been an educator for 10 years. She received a bachelor’s degree in elementary education and a minor in reading from Carroll College. Corvallis administrators, faculty and staff say she is dedicated, enthusiastic and born to teach. Snyder was nominated for the award by Corvallis Primary School Principal Janice Stranahan.

The Maryfrances Shreeve Award was created in 1992 by Jean’ne Shreeve and her brother, William, to honor their mother, a UM graduate who taught with distinction around western Montana. Maryfrances Shreeve was the first award recipient. Since then, the award has brought deserved attention to exemplary Montana educators.

The 2013 Marlene Bachmann Student Teaching Award went to Ariea Reed Berry, who exhibited outstanding pedagogical and professional skills that reflect Bachmann’s standards and dedication to the field.

Berry completed her student teaching at Florence-Carlton High School and Lolo School District 7. She is described as someone who exemplifies the very finest in teaching, and Amy York, who worked with Berry at Florence, said her enthusiasm for art is infectious.

The Partnership Award in Curriculum and Instruction went to the Missoula Flagship Program for their continued commitment to involve teacher candidates in their after-school programs. Flagship staff offer professional guidance to teacher candidates as they integrate learning from coursework into real experiences with students. The award was accepted on behalf of Flagship by Program Supervisor Nicole Mitchell.

Alane Dobie of Community Medical Center won the Communication Sciences and Disorders Partnership Award. Dobie was selected for her commitment to provide graduate students unique clinical experiences with a range of clients across the lifespan.

Shelley Andres, a UM graduate and principal of the K-8 Missoula County school DeSmet, received the Educational Leadership Partnership Award. Andres was recognized for her dedication to the profession by participating in an innovative pilot study for student teachers.

The Health and Human Sciences Partnership Award went to two outstanding health enhancement educators. Jack Yeakel of Lewis and Clark Elementary and Tim Kerr of Sentinel High School, both in the Missoula County Public Schools district, were recognized for their many years of service to the profession.

The Montana Digital Academy Partnership Award was given to Mike Magone, superintendent of Lolo Elementary School. From the inception of the Digital Academy in 2010, Magone has been a staunch supporter and partner of online learning opportunities for his Lolo students, as well as all Montana students.

The Fort Peck Assiniboine and Sioux tribes, along with Council Chairman Floyd Azure, received the Institute for Education Research and Service Partnership Award. Azure has been a tireless advocate for improved services for children and youth. He helped develop close ties between UM and elders, tribal agencies and community members to build model treatment programs with high potential to also benefit Indian Country nationally through replication.

More than 50 scholarship recipients and their donors also were recognized with more than $430,631 in awards presented.

For more information call Nancy Marra, director of the UM Phyllis J. Washington College of Education and Human Sciences Office of Field Experiences, at 406-243-2031 or email





Contact: Nancy Marra, director, Office of Field Experiences, UM Phyllis J. Washington College of Education and Human Sciences, 406-243-2031,