Accessible Navigation. Go to: Navigation Main Content Footer
UM News
May 17, 2013

MISSOULA – University of Montana Presidential Leadership Scholarships have been awarded to 24 exceptional incoming UM freshmen. The scholarships recognize outstanding talent, academic performance, leadership and contribution to the community.

This year’s scholarship winners were chosen from a field of more than 300 qualified applicants. Scholarship recipients become members of UM’s Davidson Honors College and receive a four-year tuition waiver plus an additional $5,000 to $7,500 per year.

Montana’s crop of 2013 Presidential Leadership Scholars are Madison Drake, Madison Schwarzkoph and McKenzie Watterson of Billings; Caleb Chestnut and Lucy Tompkins of Bozeman; Travis Glenn and Katherine Shea of Helena; Roman Chinikaylo, Rachel Dickson, Meaghan Gaul, Stacia Hill, Ellen Ipsen, Levi Kindred, Mackenzie Lombardi, Claire Michelson, Ashlin Staso of Missoula; and Eli Nordstrom of Red Lodge.

Seven Presidential Leadership Scholars will come to UM from other states. They are Emily Leonhardt of Rocklin, Calif.; Aspen Peifer of Colorado Springs, Colo.; Ryann Carlson of Coeur d’Alene, Idaho; Katherine Sussman of Idaho Falls, Idaho; Gavan Borgias of Ashland, Ore.; Mariah McIntosh of Corvallis, Ore.; and Clare Vergobbi of Salt Lake City.

“We have recruited an impressive group of students for this prestigious scholarship program,” said James McKusick, dean of the Davidson Honors College. “These students will contribute to the entire campus through their aspiration of academic excellence and their engagement in leadership and service. We expect tremendous accomplishments from them.”



State, hometowns


Contact: James McKusick, dean, Davidson Honors College, 406-243-2541,