Accessible Navigation. Go to: Navigation Main Content Footer
UM News
October 01, 2013

MISSOULA – The University of Montana will honor five recipients with the 2013 Distinguished Alumni Awards during Homecoming this year, and the colleges and schools from which those alumni graduated also will host special afternoon receptions on Friday, Oct. 4.

This year’s distinguished alumni are Dorothy Bridges of Minneapolis, George Dennison of Missoula, Jim Messina of Washington, D.C., Milton Parsons of Denver and Yoko Takeuchi of Tokyo.  

The reception schedule is:

  • Bridges and Dennison: College of Arts and Sciences, 4-5 p.m., Brantly Hall Presidents Room, invitation only.
  • Messina: School of Journalism, 3:30-4:30 p.m., Don Anderson Hall Second Floor Lobby.
  • Parsons: College of Forestry and Conservation, 2:45-3:45 p.m., outside the Forestry Building by the high wheels or in Forestry Building Room 102 in case of inclement weather.
  • Takeuchi: School of Business Administration, 4-5:30 p.m., Gallagher Business Building Gianchetta Piazza.

The receptions for Messina, Parsons and Takeuchi are open to the public, and the reception for Bridges and Dennison is invitation-only. Later the same day, the public also is invited to a panel discussion featuring all five Distinguished Alumni Award recipients at 5:30 p.m. in the University Center Ballroom. An awards ceremony and reception will follow.

For more information call UM Office of Alumni Relations and Alumni Association Events Coordinator Jodi Moreau at 406-243-6125 or email



Local, Campus


Contact: Jodi Moreau, events coordinator, UM Office of Alumni Relations and Alumni Association, 406-243-6125,