UM Announces 2014 Presidential Leadership Scholars

May 21, 2014

MISSOULA – University of Montana Presidential Leadership Scholarships have been awarded to 33 exceptional incoming UM freshmen. The scholarships recognize outstanding talent, academic performance, leadership and contribution to the community.

This year’s scholarship winners were chosen from a field of more than 400 qualified applicants. Scholarship recipients become members of UM’s Davidson Honors College and receive a four‑year tuition waiver plus an additional $5,000 to $7,500 per year.

Montana’s crop of 2014 Presidential Leadership Scholars are Conner Becker of Belgrade; Nicole Evans, Carter Webber and Jennifer Zundel of Billings; Natasha Colson-Sullivan, Martha Krebill and Kurt Swimley of Bozeman; Noah Johnston of Butte; Lindsay Ashton of Clancy; Kian Bertin of Colstrip; Jed Syrenne of Florence; Andrew Honken of Frenchtown; Erika Ackerlund and Bethany Crouse of Helena; Lander Crissman of Kalispell; Austin Gilbert, Katerina Hall and Parker Lund of Missoula; and Jebediah Rosen of Victor.

Fourteen Presidential Leadership Scholars will come to UM from other states. They are Erin Goudreau of Anchorage, Alaska; Victoria Gifford of Agoura Hills, Calif.; Alicia Leggett of Kentfield, Calif.; Reid Hensen of Englewood, Colo.; Tessa Leake of Evergreen, Colo.; Claire Dalman of Lakewood; Ill.; Kaitlyn Strickfaden of McHenry, Ill.; Madeline Matia of Olmsted Falls, Ohio; Megan Franz of Tigard, Ore.; Nathaniel Smith of Moab, Utah; Sarah Gaulke of Fairfax, Va.; Cassandra Sevigny of Everett, Wash.; Carly Stinson of Lacey, Wash.; and Emily Hurst of Puyallup, Wash.

“We have recruited an impressive group of students for this prestigious scholarship program,” said James McKusick, dean of the Davidson Honors College. “These students will contribute to the entire campus through their aspiration to academic excellence and their engagement in leadership and service. We expect tremendous accomplishments from them.”

For more information call the Honors College at 406-243-2541 or email


State, Hometowns

Contact: UM Davidson Honors College, 406-243-2541,