UM Students to Receive Awards for Promoting Campus Diversity

March 31, 2015

MISSOULA – The Diversity Advisory Council at the University of Montana will honor the recipients of this year’s DAC Student Achievement Awards at a ceremony from 3:30 to 5 p.m. Wednesday, April 8, in the University Center Ballroom.

The awards honor students whose leadership promotes campus diversity. Award winners have demonstrated leadership, served as role models and contributed substantially to the ideals of diversity through academic, community, campus or service projects. Nominations for the awards were accepted through March 6.

Nominees must have attended UM for one full academic semester during the 2013-14 academic year and be in good academic standing. Students may receive this recognition more than once. A DAC subcommittee reviewed all nominations and selected students most worthy of the award.

From preserving native languages, to organizing the annual Tunnel of Oppression, to working with people with autism and related disorders, this year’s awardees are being honored for a breadth of diversity activities.

The following students will receive awards at the ceremony:

  • Shaghuf Altaf
  • Rachel Babbitt
  • Kali Beeson
  • Trail Bundy
  • Rebecca Cloutier
  • Jason Conway
  • Jesse DesRosier
  • Ruriko Ebara
  • Tessa Feemster
  • Sarah Fink
  • Kenneth Flamand
  • Samantha French
  • Shanae Gilham
  • Sylvia Gomez
  • David Hernandez-Angeles
  • Abigail Jones
  • Jonathon Knudson
  • Roger LaPlante
  • Jacinda (Morgieau) Lovejoy
  • Ewere (Suzette) Moseri
  • Nicholas O'Neal
  • Summer Page
  • Amber Shaffer
  • Whitney Snow
  • Kathleen Stone
  • Abby Sweet
  • Adriane Tailfeathers
  • Marley Tanner
  • Yu Xia

For more information call Juana Alcala, UM Diversity Advisory Council member, at 406-243-2049 or email

Contact: Juana Alcala, UM Diversity Advisory Council member, 406-243-2049,