Montana Newspaper Association Boosts UM Journalism Scholarships

June 19, 2015

MISSOULA – The Montana Newspaper Association is more than doubling the amount of annual scholarship funding it provides to University of Montana School of Journalism students. The organization made the announcement during its June 13 convention and awards ceremony.

“This is just our way of nurturing the future journalists of Montana,” said MNA Executive Director Jim Rickman.

Rickman said providing scholarships to aspiring journalists falls squarely in line with MNA’s mission, which is to advance and sustain Montana’s news publishing industry. In recent years, the organization has provided $2,500 annually for promising UM journalism students.

MNA scholarships include the Pat Burke Memorial Scholarship, in honor of the wife of the late Frank Burke, a longtime publisher of the Glendive Ranger-Reviewand the Dean Stone Award, named after UM School of Journalism founder Dean Arthur L. Stone. Beginning in the 2016-17 academic year, MNA will increase its scholarship funding to $6,000.

“The J-school is very grateful for this additional support from our old friends at MNA,” said UM School of Journalism Dean Larry Abramson. “These scholarships are critical as we try to attract the best journalism students and send them off to MNA papers.”

The most recent MNA award winners are Charli White, a photojournalist from Silesia who is entering her senior year. White, who garnered the Pat Burke Memorial Scholarship, said the MNA’s generosity will help her fulfill a dream to study abroad.

The Dean Stone Award, meanwhile, went to Micah Drew, a UM track and cross-country standout and an aspiring sports writer from Boise, Idaho. Drew also is a senior, and after graduating he aims to write for sports and adventure magazines.

For more information on the UM School of Journalism, visit

Contact: Jessica Mayrer, communication and events coordinator, UM School of Journalism, 406-239-1682,