UM Announces 2015 Presidential Leadership Scholars

July 15, 2015

MISSOULA – University of Montana Presidential Leadership Scholarships have been awarded to 26 exceptional incoming UM freshmen. The scholarships recognize outstanding talent, academic performance, leadership and contribution to the community.

This year’s scholarship winners were chosen from a field of more than 200 qualified applicants. Scholarship recipients enroll in UM’s Davidson Honors College and receive a four‑year tuition waiver plus an additional $5,000 to $7,500 per year. Through the generosity of the James M. and Frances M. Wylder Foundation, UM also awarded two new James M. Wylder Presidential Leadership Scholarships in the amount of $11,588 per year in addition to the four-year tuition waiver.

Montana’s crop of 2015 Presidential Leadership Scholars are Brooke Kern of Absarokee; Jefferson Bagley and Emma Woodring of Billings; Jacob O’Neill of Bozeman; Cortney Walsh and Keegan Whelan of Butte; Kyle Shifflett of Corvallis; Jake Pennington of Elliston; Henry Curtis of Hamilton; Hannah Pepprock of Havre; Noah Hill of Kalispell; Lexi Klawitter of Livingston; Megan Branson, Charlotte Lagner and Mary McCormick of Missoula; Malia Morris of Whitefish; and Garret Jolma of Winnett.

Nine Presidential Leadership Scholars will come to UM from other states. They are Bethany Cramer of Fairbanks, Alaska; Christopher King of Evergreen, Colorado; Joseph Newman of Meeker, Colorado; Serena Nozawa of Ka’a’awa, Hawaii; Savannah Woods of Bonners Ferry, Idaho; Stephen Pelletier of Pocatello, Idaho; Cole Geschwind of Rochester, Minnesota; Rachel Blumhardt of Rapid City, South Dakota; and Elizabeth DeReu of Greenacres, Washington.

“We have recruited an impressive group of students for this prestigious scholarship program,” said Liz Putnam, interim dean of the Davidson Honors College. “These students will contribute to the entire campus through their aspiration to academic excellence and their engagement in leadership and service. We expect tremendous accomplishments from them.”

Contact: Liz Putnam, interim dean, UM Davidson Honors College, 406-243-2541,