Record Number of High School Students Attend Model UN Conference at UM

December 10, 2015

MISSOULA – A record 431 students from 20 high schools across three states participated in the Montana Model United Nations 50th Annual High School Conference, held at the University of Montana Nov. 23-24.

High school students from Montana, Idaho and Wyoming represented 124 of the UN’s 193 member states as they debated and wrote resolutions addressing important international issues. UM students enrolled in a Model United Nations course offered by the Department of Political Science staffed the conference.

Keynote speaker Joanna Shelton, a former deputy secretary general of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development in Paris and deputy assistant secretary of state for trade policy under the George H.W. Bush and Clinton administrations, delivered a talk, “Global Cooperation in a Fragmenting World.”

The conference concluded with an awards ceremony honoring the top school delegations and students. Six schools received designations of outstanding (top 10 percent), distinguished (top 20 percent) and honorable (top 30 percent).

Large delegation (schools with 17 or more delegates):

  1. Outstanding: Flathead High School, Kalispell
  2. Distinguished: Coeur d’Alene Charter Academy, Coeur d’Alene, Idaho
  3. Honorable: Sentinel High School, Missoula
  4. Honorable: Big Sky High School, Missoula

Small delegation (schools with 16 or fewer delegates):

  1. Outstanding: Hamilton Christian Academy, Hamilton
  2. Distinguished: Whitefish High School, Whitefish
  3. Honorable: Valley Christian School, Missoula

The following students were named Top 20 Seniors and received medals at the ceremony. In addition, the top five seniors received a $1,000 scholarship to attend UM.

  1.  Abby Barnett, Coeur d’Alene Charter Academy, Antigua and Barbuda

  2.  Josie Jolly, Glacier High School, France

  3.  Jeremy Heng, Hellgate High School, United States

  4.  Kendra Wilke, Flathead High School, New Zealand

  5.  Nolan Jenko, Big Sky High School, Chad

  6.  Emily Getts, Columbia Falls High School, Hungary

  7.  Connor Wingred, Big Sky High School, Norway

  8.  Sara Ward, Flathead High School, Laos

  9.  Emma Harrison, Hellgate High School, United States

  10. Maddie Mann, Jefferson High School, Ghana

  11. Frances Cronin, Bozeman High School, Mexico

  12. Sabrina Collier, Coeur d’Alene Charter Academy, Japan

  13. Aidan Reed, Helena High School, Jordan

  14. Liz Williams, Sentinel High School, Egypt

  15. Ben Wright, Glacier High School, Ivory Coast

  16. Brenna DeMarois, Sentinel High School, Egypt

  17. Conor Cox, Sentinel High School, China

  18. Jada Douglas, Coeur d’Alene Charter Academy, Japan

  19. Shannon Isadora, Hellgate High School, United States

  20. Max Thibeau, Sentinel High School, China

The complete list of awards presented at the 2015 conference is online at For more information call Eric Hines, UM political science assistant professor, at 406-243-4076 or email

Contact: Eric Hines, UM political science assistant professor, 406-243-4076,