UM Alumni Association Announces 2016 Charter Day Award Recipients

January 20, 2016

MISSOULA – The University of Montana Alumni Association will honor eight members of the UM and Missoula communities at the annual Charter Day awards ceremony and reception on Thursday, Feb. 18.

The ceremony, which will cap off the celebration of UM’s 123rd birthday, starts at 5:30 p.m. in the University Center Ballroom.

A list of this year’s award recipients follows.

  • ASUM Student Service Award: Byron Boots, UM senior, business administration
  • Neil S. Bucklew Presidential Service Award: Nelson Weller, former UM Foundation Board of Trustees member
  • Montana Alumni Award: Marcia Holland, former UMAA board chair and active volunteer
  • George M. Dennison Presidential Faculty Award for Distinguished Accomplishment: Vince Colucci, professor, Department of Pharmacy Practice
  • George M. Dennison Presidential Staff Award for Distinguished Accomplishment: Barb Seekins, assistant director, Foreign Student and Scholar Services
  • Outstanding Service to the External Community Award: Sara Polanchek, clinical director, Department of Counselor Education
  • John Ruffatto Memorial Award: Sam Panarella, associate professor, Alexander Blewett III School of Law
  • Robert T. Pantzer Presidential Humanitarian Award: Deena Mansour, associate director, Maureen and Mike Mansfield Center

More information is available online at

Contact: Angela Weisenburger, UM Office of Alumni Relations on-campus events coordinator, 406-243-6439,