UM President to be Honored by American Association of University Women

April 28, 2016

MISSOULA – The Missoula branch of the American Association of University Women will honor University of Montana President Royce Engstrom for his efforts to improve sexual assault response and prevention on campus.

The group will present Engstrom with an award during its luncheon, which will be held from 11 a.m.-1 p.m. Saturday, April 30, at the First Presbyterian Church Fellowship Hall located at 235 S. Fifth St. W. The award ceremony will take place from noon to 1 p.m. Gov. Steve Bullock also will be recognized for his work on gender-pay equality in Montana.

On the national level, AAUW advocates for gender-pay equality, education for women and sexual assault prevention. Local branches, including Missoula’s branch, support this work through state and federal legislation related to education and equality; by mentoring women in education and the workplace; by sponsoring community and campus action grants; and by offering scholarships and fellowships.   

For more information on this event or Missoula AAUW, call branch President Cindy Garthwait at 406-243-2954 or email


Contact: Rebecca Power, assistant to the president, 406-243-2311,