UM Students Selected as Conservation Scholars

September 28, 2016

MISSOULA – Three University of Montana students were selected from among candidates throughout the western United States as 2016-17 Wyss Scholars for Conservation.

Clayton Miller, Alexander Barton and Matthew Hart were chosen by the Wyss Foundation and UM faculty from the Environmental Studies program and the College of Forestry and Conservation for their superlative academic achievement and conservation goals.

Hart, from Amherst, Massachusetts, is in his second year of master’s work in UM’s Environmental Studies program. Barton, from New London, New Hampshire, is also in his second year of master’s work and studies resource conservation in the College of Forestry and Conservation. Miller, from Deltaville, Virginia, is in his second year at UM’s Blewett School of Law.

The awards provide tuition assistance, internship strategies and postgraduate loan repayment funds.

The Wyss Scholars Program supports graduate-level education for a new generation of leaders in western land conservation. Wyss Scholars apply the latest concepts of conservation policy and science to careers in land management agencies and nonprofit conservation groups.

Scholarships provide up to half of tuition and expenses for a master’s degree, with part of the award going to the master’s program and the rest toward students who enter qualifying employment. Scholars also are awarded up to $5,000 to cover summer research or internships. UM is one of four schools that host the Wyss Scholars Program.

For more information on the program, visit


Contact: Julie Tompkins, administrative assistant, UM Environmental Studies program, 406-243-6284,