Model UN Participants Win Scholarships to UM

December 16, 2016

MISSOULA – Five high school seniors received $1,000 scholarships to attend the University of Montana for their exemplary performance at the 51st annual Montana Model United Nations Conference on Nov. 21-22.  

Entezar Arman and Natalie Jablonski from Coeur d’Alene Charter Academy, Jackson Petty from Missoula Sentinel High School, and Colin Norick and Annabel Conger from Columbia Falls High School were among the top five seniors.

Each student wrote an outstanding position paper and actively and accurately represented his or her country during two days of debate on world issues.

Other Top 20 Seniors included Kelli Rosenquist from Missoula Sentinel High School; Brendan Campbell, Silas Teasdale, Antigone Lambros, Emma Norton and Oscar Wecker from Missoula Hellgate High School; Kori Mooney, Sophia Skwarchuk and Isaak Winkelman from Kalispell Flathead High School; Clayton Covell from Columbia Falls High School; Trevor Griffin, Mikayla Oswald and Max McCormick from Coeur d’Alene Charter Academy; Maria Lovely from Gallatin Gateway Lone Peak High School; and Makkie Haller from Whitefish High School.           

Schools also won awards at the conclusion of the conference. The 17 participating schools were divided into small and large delegations based on number of students attending the conference and judged on the overall preparedness, participation and excellence of their delegates.

The three school award categories include Outstanding School for the top 10 percent, Distinguished School for the top 20 percent and Honorable School for the top 30 percent.

The following small delegation schools won:

  • Outstanding School: Hamilton Christian Academy, advised by Tanya Horat and Holly Shupert
  • Distinguished School: Lone Peak High School, advised by Alanah Griffith
  • Honorable School: Missoula Valley Christian, advised by Noelle DeCan

Large delegation winners:

  • Outstanding School: Coeur d’Alene Charter Academy, advised by Robert Miles
  • Distinguished School: Flathead High School, advised by Lauren Gustafson
  • Honorable School: Columbia Falls High School, advised by Tara Norick and Jenny Lovering

The top 20 percent of the 96 teams representing countries and 350 students who attended the conference also received awards, as did UM students who planned and staffed the conference. A complete award listing is online at    

For information on the conference, including topics, guest speakers and participating high schools, see the Delegate Handbook at


Contact: Karen Adams, associate professor, UM Department of Political Science, 406-243-2461,