‘Perma Red’ Named Montana’s Best-Loved Novel

January 15, 2019

MISSOULA – “Perma Red” by author Debra Magpie Earling has been voted the top book beloved by Montanans through “The Great Montana Read “program, headed by MontanaPBS and Montana Public Radio. Norman Maclean’s “A River Runs Through It” finished in second place, while “This House of Sky” by Ivan Doig received enough votes for third place.

More than 2,500 votes were cast on the MontanaPBS website. Voting ended at the end of 2018.

As part of the nationwide search for America’s best-loved novel through the PBS-sponsored “Great American Read,” a panel of seven Montana literary experts chose 20 books for voters to consider for the Great Montana Read.

“’The Great Montana Read’ is an exciting collaboration, encouraging conversation and celebration around the Treasure State’s rich literary tradition,” said Sarah Aronson, host of Montana Public Radio’s “The Write Question.” Aronson wrote and hosted video segments featuring each nominated book.

Partners for ‘The Great Montana Read’ include the Montana Library Association, Humanities Montana, the University of Montana, Mansfield Library, the UM Creative Writing Department, MontanaPBS and Montana Public Radio.

MontanaPBS, aired on KUFM-TV in Missoula, KUSM-TV in Bozeman, KUKL-TV in Kalispell, KBGS-TV in Billings, KUGF-TV in Great Falls and KUHM-TV in Helena, is a service of the University of Montana and Montana State University. For more information, visit http://www.montanapbs.org/.

Montana Public Radio is a public service of UM and broadcasts on 89.1 Missoula (KUFM); 91.5 Missoula city (K218AI); 91.9 Hamilton (KUFN); 89.5 Polson (KPJH); 90.1 Kalispell, Whitefish, North Valley (KUKL); 90.5 Libby (KUFL); 91.7 Kalispell, city (K219BN); 101.3 Swan Lake (K267BJ); 91.3 Butte (KAPC); 91.7 Helena (KUHM); 91.7 Dillon (K219DN); 89.9 Great Falls (KGPR); and 98.3 White Sulphur Springs (K252AD). Learn more at http://www.mtpr.org.    


Contact: Ray Ekness, director, UM Broadcast Media Center, 406-243-4154, ray.ekness@umontana.edu.