Eight Montana Students Named Newman Civic Fellows

March 14, 2019

MISSOULA – Montana Campus Compact (MTCC) has named eight Montana college students Newman Civic Fellows. They join a national cohort of 262 Fellows named across the nation.

MTCC is a statewide higher education network of 18 Montana colleges and universities headquartered at the University of Montana working to advance the public purposes of higher education.

The Newman Civic Fellowship is a one-year fellowship for community-committed college students from more than 1,000 Campus Compact member institutions. The fellowship honors the late Frank Newman, one of Campus Compact’s founders, who was a tireless advocate for civic engagement in higher education. 

In the spirit of Newman’s leadership, Campus Compact member presidents and chancellors in Montana nominated a student from their institution who has demonstrated a capacity for leadership and an investment in finding solutions to challenges facing communities in Montana and throughout the world.

Montana’s 2019 Newman Civic Fellows are:

  • Grace Cady, Flathead Valley Community College, Associate of Science, class of 2019.
  • Julius Scott, Great Falls College Montana State University, computer science/programming, class of 2022.
  • Jerico Cummings, Montana State University, sociology major and Native American studies minor, class of 2020.
  • Brenna Beckett, Montana State University-Billings, broad field science education and biology, class of 2020.
  • McKenna Savage, Montana Technological University, electrical engineering, class of 2022.
  • Jessica Novak, Rocky Mountain College, K-12 art education, class of 2020.
  • Daisy Ward, University of Montana, political science and Spanish, class of 2020.
  • Adrianna Pittman, University of Montana Western; secondary education, mathematics and Bachelor of Broad Field Science Secondary Education; class of 2023.

Through the fellowship, Campus Compact provides a variety of learning and networking opportunities that emphasize personal, professional and civic growth. Each year, Fellows are invited to a national conference of Newman Civic Fellows in partnership with the Edward M. Kennedy Institute for the U.S. Senate. The fellowship also provides Fellows with pathways to apply for exclusive scholarship and postgraduate opportunities.

“We are proud to recognize each of these extraordinary student leaders and thrilled to have the opportunity to engage with them,” said Campus Compact President Andrew Seligsohn. “The stories of this year’s Newman Civic Fellows make clear that they are committed to finding solutions to pressing problems in their communities and beyond. That is what Campus Compact is about, and it’s what our country and our world desperately need.”

The Newman Civic Fellowship is supported by the KPMG Foundation and Newman’s Own Foundation. Learn more at http://bit.ly/2TL4237.


About Montana Campus Compact:

Montana Campus Compact advances the public purposes of colleges and universities by deepening their ability to improve community life and to educate students on civic and social responsibility. The organization is one of 35 State Affiliates of Campus Compact, a national coalition of 1,000-plus colleges and universities representing over 6 million students who are dedicated to participating in community service, civic engagement and service-learning in higher education. The current membership includes Montana’s two-year, four-year, public, private, tribal and community colleges and universities, as well as a network office located at the University of Montana in Missoula.

Contact: Kathy Peters, Montana Campus Compact, 406-243-5135, peters@mtcompact.org.