MontanaPBS, MTPR Receive Accolades at State Broadcast Convention

July 02, 2019

MontanaPBS Producer Anna Rau’s documentary about seatbelts on school buses – “Safe Enough?”– earned the E.B. Craney Award for Non-Commercial Television Program of the Year. MISSOULA – MontanaPBS and Montana Public Radio once again have received recognition for providing excellent programming during the Montana Broadcasters Association Convention.   

Producer Anna Rau received a coveted E.B. Craney Award for Non-Commercial Television Program of the Year from the MBA and the Greater Montana Foundation. Rau’s documentary “Safe Enough?” took viewers through the evolving debate over seatbelts on buses with interviews from crash experts, lawmakers and school officials (

“Backroads of Montana: Speed of Sound,” produced by William Marcus, Gus Chambers, John Twiggs and Ray Ekness was the other finalist in the same category (

Montana Public Radio’s website was the runner-up in the Radio Website category, and Montana Public Radio online editor Josh Burnham and his staff won the last two awards in the category (

In the Radio Non-Commercial Program of the Year category, “Alex Not Amy: Growing Up Transgender in the Rural West,” produced by School of Journalism Dean Denise Dowling and aired by MTPR, was named runner-up (

The E.B. Craney Awards recognize excellence in local news, production, promotion, programs and public service in both radio and television stations across the state. The awards were presented at the MBA banquet and Hall of Fame induction on Saturday, June 22, at Big Sky Resort.

Montana Public Radio and MontanaPBS are part of the University of Montana Broadcast Media Center.

Montana Public Radio airs across much of western and central Montana at 89.1 and 91.5 in Missoula; 91.9 in Hamilton; 89.5 in Polson; 90.1 in Kalispell, Whitefish and North Valley; 90.5 in Libby; 91.7 in Kalispell; 101.3 in Swan Lake; 91.3 in Butte; 91.7 in Helena; 89.9 in Great Falls; 91.7 in Dillon and online at

MontanaPBS (KUFM-TV in Missoula, KUSM-TV in Bozeman, KUKL-TV in Kalispell, KBGS-TV in Billings, KUGF-TV in Great Falls and KUHM-TV in Helena) is a service of UM and Montana State University. For more information, visit


Contact: Ray Ekness, director, UM Broadcast Media Center, 406-243-4154,