UM School of Journalism, Students Place in Hearst Awards’ Top 10

May 24, 2017

MISSOULA – The University of Montana School of Journalism and its students earned top 10 placements in the annual William Randolph Hearst Foundation’s Journalism Awards.

The Hearst Journalism Awards are the most prestigious student journalism awards nationally. More than 100 undergraduate journalism programs at universities across the nation are eligible to participate.

UM’s School of Journalism finished seventh in the Intercollegiate Writing Competition. Claire Chandler and Kasey Bubnash, who both just earned their UM journalism degrees, contributed to the finish. Chandler’s personality profile earned a seventh-place finish, while Bubnash’s sports writing and feature reporting took eighth and ninth places, respectively.

UM placed 10th in Hearst’s Multimedia Team Reporting category for the Montana Journalism Review’s coverage of Standing Rock. UM students Tailyr Irvine, Kathleen Stone, Matt Roberts, Olivia Vanni, Kira Vercruyssen, Zoie Koostra, Lailani Upham, Taylor Crews, Corey Hockett, Anna Reid and Maddie Vincent were on the reporting team.

UM senior Jake Green finished ninth in Hearst’s 2017 Multimedia Enterprise category.

More information on individual award categories is online at

The UM School of Journalism launched in 1914, and has trained generations of journalists in print, broadcast, photography and new media. The school regularly ranks among the top 10 journalism schools in the United States.


Contact: Larry Abramson, dean, UM School of Journalism, 406-243-4001,