MTPR Website, Program Receive Statewide Recognition

June 29, 2017

MISSOULA – Montana Public Radio’s website and breakthrough podcast “Threshold” recently received E.B. Craney Awards from the Montana Broadcasters Association and the Greater Montana Foundation.

The E.B. Craney Awards recognize excellence in local news, production, promotion, programs and public service in both radio and television station across the state. The awards were presented June 24 at the MBA annual convention in Big Sky.

MTPR’s website,, won for Radio Website of the Year.

“Thanks to all of our hard-working news staff and program hosts who make look so good,” said MTPR online editor Josh Burnham, who accepted the award.

In the Radio Non-Commercial Program of the Year category, Burnham accepted the award as part of the team from the audio podcast and radio program “Threshold,” which is produced and hosted by Amy Martin. “Threshold’s” first season, called “Give Me a Home,” told the story of the American bison.

“We’re very excited that our hard work was honored with an E.B. Award,” Martin said.

Two other programs were named finalists. Rodeo Radio Theater’s production of “The Frogs Who Wanted a King” was the runner-up in the Radio Non-Commercial Program of the Year category. “Backroads of Montana: Sharp Shooters” finished in second place for Television Non-Commercial Program of the Year.

Montana Public Radio airs across much of western and central Montana at 89.1 and 91.5 in Missoula, 91.9 in Hamilton, 89.5 in Polson, 90.1 in Kalispell, Whitefish and North Valley, 90.5 in Libby, 91.7 in Kalispell, 101.3 in Swan Lake, 91.3 in Butte, 91.7 in Helena, 89.9 in Great Falls, 91.7 in Dillon and online at

MontanaPBS (KUFM-TV in Missoula, KUSM-TV in Bozeman, KUKL-TV in Kalispell, KBGS-TV in Billings, KUGF-TV in Great Falls and KUHM-TV in Helena) is a service of the University of Montana and Montana State University. For more information, visit  

Contact: Ray Ekness, UM Broadcast Media Center director, 406-243-4154,